Cooking from the last two weeks

 

 

The grocery bag posts seem to be quite popular, according to the site stats.  Another one is going up soon.  But I thought that first I’d share the results of the last two grocery bags.

As a reminder, here is the haul from two weeks ago:

20140706_121517

I don’t have pictures of the salmon and asparagus, because I was in a hurry that night and just wanted something easy.  See the “Easy Dill Sauce” post for more details.

After having the disappointing risotto at Six Penn, I decided it was time to make risotto again.  Especially since my steak au poivre recipe involves having boiling flavored water handy anyway.

First, I diced one onion:

20140707_190739

 

and caramelized it:

20140707_192034

And then did about twenty other things to turn it into a wonderful sweet and sour onion sauce.  Meanwhile, I was broiling the filets, and making a portobello mushroom risotto:

20140707_195842

As you can see, the rice has lost it’s rice-ness, and become nice and creamy, the way a risotto should be.  I then added the filet (which was slightly over; got distracted):

20140707_200018

And then the sauce:

.20140707_200145(1)

 

It was very yummy.  Here is a more perfect filet from the next night, when I was paying closer attention to the meat thermometer:

20140712_193939

 

Here is the grocery haul from last weekend:

20140712_113639

I’m trying to duplicate the Giant Eagle pasta salad, because they don’t make it very well, sometimes don’t have it, and sometimes the tomatoes are downright rotten.  And because I want it made just the way I want it (no cucumber, al dente pasta).  Here’s my first attempt, which was pretty good but still needs work:

20140713_121458

The other thing I made was Chicken Satay, with this recipe I got from a coworker:

http://leesmarket.com/2007/02/chicken-satay/

20140714_181914

It was really good.  The flavors were different from most other chicken satays I’ve had, but that wasn’t a bad thing.  This one reminded me of Tom Kha Gai, one of my favorite soups.  In fact, if I make it again, I’m adding a bit of lime juice and some serrano peppers.  And it’s really easy, too.  I marinaded it for 24 hours before grilling.  Oh, and next time, I think I might use some cornstarch to thicken the marinade so it sticks a bit better.

Leave a Reply

