Trattoria Contadina, San Francisco

 

And the winner is … Trattoria Contadina!!!!  When you see a 91% urban spoon rating, you know you’re going to be in for a treat.

When I’m traveling, it’s 10 or 11 restaurant meals in a row, so I try to keep some variety going.  Since I’m outside Pittsburgh, I usually take the opportunity to get better ethnic food than one can typically find in the burgh.  That means sampling from the Travel Food Groups: Bar Food (usually Sunday night at the hotel after checking in), Burger (when I get dragged somewhere like Friday’s), Thai food, Chinese food, Seafood, Pasta, Sandwich, Indian food, Pub food, Soup and Salad, Mexican food (southwest only), Local Specialty, and Steak and Potato.  Italian food is generally not on my radar.

After failing several times to find a decent Mexican place in San Francisco, I gave up, and decided to give Italian a try, since there were so many.  And I’m very glad I did.  This is the Saltimbocca from Trattoria Contadina:

 

20140618_192417

HOLY CRAP IS IT INCREDIBLE.  This is one of those dishes I dream of being able to make myself.  Everything on the plate was absolutely stunning and perfectly prepared and worked wonderfully together.  The roasted potatoes and spinach were perfect, and the marsala and tomato sauce were incredible.  There was a distinct sweetness, almost like syrup to the sauce that went perfectly with the tender veal scaloppini and mozzarella.  And the service was top notch.  It’s a pretty small place, so I recommend reservations.  Since I was alone, I sat at the bar and talked foodie stuff with a very intelligent and friendly bartender.

I can’t say enough good things about this place.  If you’re in San Francisco, you have to try it.  Best dish I’ve had so far this year, and that includes my own signature dish.

 

One thought on “Trattoria Contadina, San Francisco

Leave a Reply

