Cuban Sandwich

When I was young, we had leftover ham for dinner one Sunday night, and I put it on a roll with dijon mustard and pickles.  I liked the combination so much, I kept eating it for years, including at least once a week for lunch at school.  At the time, I thought it was just a weird combination I happened to like.  It was only recently I discovered that it’s … essentially a Cuban sandwich (sans cheese).  Some flavor combinations are so classic they can be re-discovered by young kids 😛

20150420_194831

Inspired by the movie Chef (which I don’t actually recommend, because it’s a bit slow, sappy, and boring), I decided to take a stab at a slightly more authentic version, though I decided to keep a bit of a French twist.

Instead of roast pork, I decided to use a braised pork.  The marinade and braising liquid was orange juice, oregano, and three thinly sliced serrano peppers (seeds included).  A pork loin was browned and then braised for three hours:

20150420_11263720150420_141759

I couldn’t stop stuffing the pork loin into my face after tasting it … it’s nice and tangy with a bit of a kick.

I then took a baguette, added butter and garlic, and broiled it to brown it.  Then I added roast pork, ham, swiss cheese, dill pickle slices, and dijon mustard.

20150420_19345420150421_103000

Then I baked it for 5 minutes to melt the cheese.  If the two step broil/bake method sounds like my workaround for not having a plancha, you’re right.

The resulting sandwich was, in fact, very yummy!  I would make the pork again with a side, and then use the leftovers for sandwiches …

20150421_103035

Leave a Reply

